The beginning of TRANSformation

Hey (25/4/2017)

IMG_7072
That’s me

My name is Aidan Laws. Thats me in the photo. I look like just your average 19 year old, out at Jump Giants, getting ready to bounce. And that partly true. I am out at Jump Giants getting ready to bounce; but i’m not your average 19 year old.

NO, I don’t have super powers, and no I’m not some super genius who can recite pi to 100 digits. I’m transgender. More specifically, Female to Male transgender, meaning that even though when I was born the doctors said that I was a girl, I have always felt more like a boy. This isn’t uncommon. It is estimated that there are between 300,000 to 500,000 transgender/gender non-conforming individuals within the UK. So thats a lot of people. You never know, you could have walked past one today on the way to the shops.

Being transgender has become quite a big thing in the past few years. This is thanks to big names such as Caitlyn Jenner, Laverne Cox, and Chaz Bono, who have come out and shared their experiences, and recognition is what the Transgender community needs. unfortunately for many transgender people, life isn’t glamorous and it can be a daily struggle to get on with life due to bullying, or rejection.

BUT! Hopefully that can all change. I’m going to give you an insight in to my life as a 19 year old Transgender male and hopefully give you the information you need to learn how to accept and maybe even support the community.

“It’s not about “becoming” another person – I already am who I am – I just want my body to reflect that. It’s not like I’m suddenly changing from the person you have always known – this is more about your willingness to see who I’ve always been.”                                            – Cooper Lee Bombardier

 

Leave a Reply

